Dave Berghman after his first career NFMS victory (Photo courtesy of Howie Hodge and modseriesscene.com)

A great year for Dave in 2002

Dave Berghman Records First Career Nascar Featherlite Modified Victory

WATERFORD, CT (May 11) — Dave Berghman, making his 98th career NASCAR Featherlite Modified Series start, posted his first career win in the series when he captured the Waterford 150 at Waterford Speedbowl on Saturday. After starting 11th, Berghman took the lead with just seven laps remaining en route to the win. The victory was worth $6,430 to the Rehoboth, Massachusetts driver. Tony Hirschman won the Bud Pole Award after setting a new track record in qualifying around the 3/8-mile oval. Hirschman’s time was 13.654 seconds for an average speed of 98.872 mph. The qualifying redraw placed Robbie Summers on the pole with Ed Flemke alongside. At the drop of the green flag, pole-sitter Robbie Summers immediately jumped out to the early race lead. Summers’ lead lasted until lap 19, when rookie Todd Szegedy took over the race lead. Szegedy lead the next 124 circuits before giving way to Dave Berghman with just seven laps remaining in the 150-lap event. From there, Berghman would not be denied his first career NASCAR Featherlite Modified Series victory–winning by 1.16 seconds. Finishing in second place was Todd Szegedy, and for the 3rd race in a row was awarded the rookie of the race award. Szegedy pocketed $5,135 for his runner-up finish. Mike Stefanik took third place and collected $3,450. Robbie Summers and Nevin George finished fourth and fifth, respectively. Eleven of the 30 race starters finished the race on the lead lap. Hoosier Open Wheel Asphalt Product Manager Irish Saunders was scheduled to attend the event but was unable to due to injuries sustained in a motorcycling accident. Rick Fuller currently leads the NASCAR Featherlite Modified Series standings with 480 points followed by Jerry Marquis and Robbie Summer with 442 each. The next race on the series schedule is this Sunday, May 19, at Nazareth Speedway. Hoosier Racing Tire Corp. is very proud to be the exclusive tire supplier to the NASCAR Featherlite Modified Series.